Evolution of The Howrah (Rural) District

Evolution of The Howrah (Rural) District

The Howrah Rural District was created vide Notification No. 3606-PL/PB/14M-138/04 dt. 26.08.2011 of Home Police Dept. Govt. of West Bengal consequent upon the creation of Howrah Police Commissionerate, bifurcating the existing Howrah District into Howrah Police Commissionerate and Howrah (Rural) District and started functioning at Alisha Complex (rented building) under Vill+PO- Bikihakola, PS- Panchla, Dist- Howrah on and from 01.09.2011.

This District has 8 full Assembly Constituency namely Shyampur AC, Bagnan AC, Amta AC, Ulubreia Uttar AC, Uluberia Dakshin AC, Uluberia Purba AC, Udaynarayanpur AC, Panchla AC and 1 (one) Jagatballavpur AC(Part)

The Hqrs. of Howrah (Rural) District is located at about 19 KMs (by road) from South-West of Kolkata. It is bounded by the Hooghly River (the Ganges), Howrah Police Commissionerate and South 24 Parganas District on the East, On the North by Hooghly District(Arambagh and Shriampur Sub-Divisions ) and on the South by Midnapur East District(Tamluk Sub-Division). On the West Howrah (Rural) District is bordered by Ghatal Sub-Division of West Midnapore District and partly by Arambagh Sub-Division of Hooghly District to the North-West and Tamluk Sub-Division of East Midnapur District to the South-West. Boundaries of the District are naturally determined by Rupnarayan River on the West and South West and by Bhagirathi-Hooghly River on the South East Side and Damodar River by North-West side. From policing perspective, the Howrah (Rural) District has been divided into 02 Sub-Divisions. With 13 police stations and 11 blocks, 1 Municipality named as Uluberia Municipality. From Civil administrative perspective the district has been divided into two sub division one full (Uluberia) and one part (Sadar) with a total area of 1239.42 Square KM.

Control Room Numbers


Emergency Dial


Child Line

Night & Day

Report Cyber Crime


Night & Day

Any Suggestion or Complains?

Tell Us